New Legislation Expands Childhood Sexual Assault Survivors’ Rights

by Frank E. Lamothe, III

The Louisiana Supreme Court and the Legislature have reopened the courthouse doors for adult Louisianans subjected to childhood sexual assault and expanded the “lookback window” in which to file lawsuits through June 2027. This is a massive victory for survivors of childhood sexual abuse.

The New Legislation Expands Childhood Sexual Assault Survivors Rights

This latest legislation expands the “lookback window” for all child molestation allegations to be pursued in state civil court, regardless of how long ago the misconduct occurred. Louisiana is now the 22nd state that allows a lookback period in these cases. This change is particularly significant because studies show the average age at which a childhood sexual assault survivor first reports the abuse is 52 years old.

Talk With a Lawyer Experienced in Bringing Sexual Abusers to Justice

It is a brighter day for people who endured sex abuse as children in Louisiana. Adults who were sexually abused as children finally have the power to seek justice from their perpetrators and the churches, schools, youth athletic leagues, medical facilities, and other organizations that enabled the wrongdoing.

The caring and empathetic lawyers at the Lamothe Law Firm have substantial experience pursuing child sex assault cases. We fight to obtain justice and the best possible results for clients who suffered sexual trauma at any age.

If you or someone you love was sexually abused as a child by an employee of a church, healthcare provider, sports team, or school, please contact Lamothe Law Firm today for a confidential consultation to discuss your situation.

Lamothe Law Firm Best Lawyers 2018
U.S. News Best Law Firm Badge
AV Preeminent Rating Badge
American Board of Trial Advocates
New Orleans Magazine top Lawyers
Super Lawyers Badge
National Association of Distinguished Counsel Top One Percent Badge
MultiMillion Dollar Advocates Forum Badge
National trial lawyers Badge
2018 CityBusiness Leadership in Law Award