Statutes of Limitation for Reporting Child Abuse

Attorney Kristi Schubert by Kristi S. Schubert

Joelle Casteix, a member of the Survivors Network of those Abused by Priests (SNAP), wears a photo of herself at the age of 16 when she says she was abused and impregnated by a priest, at a press conference outside of the Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels for victims of sexual abuse by priests in the Catholic Archdiocese of Los Angeles in Los Angeles, California, February 1, 2013. REUTERS/David McNew

The Atlantic, “The Biggest Deterrent to Reporting Child Sexual Abuse”

LLF attorney Kristi Schubert:

52 years old is the median age that survivors of child sexual abuse first disclose the abuse to anyone. So why does Louisiana law require abuse survivors to bring their claim by the time they are 28 years old, or forever lose the right? This article discusses the effect of such statutes of limitation.
 

Download Our eBook

Child Sexual Abuse –Information Every Parent Should Know

Newsletter Opt-In

* indicates required fields

Lamothe Law Firm Best Lawyers 2018
U.S. News Best Law Firm Badge
AV Preeminent Rating Badge
American Board of Trial Advocates
New Orleans Magazine top Lawyers
Super Lawyers Badge
National Association of Distinguished Counsel Top One Percent Badge
MultiMillion Dollar Advocates Forum Badge
National trial lawyers Badge
2018 CityBusiness Leadership in Law Award

COVID – 19 Announcement

 

Lamothe Law Firm remains open for business!

 

We are continuing to work on our clients’ cases. We are still accepting new clients. We are here for you.

 

You can reach us by phone at 504-704-1414 or email info@lamothefirm.com. Using our website, new clients can “Chat” or fill out a form to request that we contact you about your case.

 

Our law firm is online and all of our employees are prepared to work remotely, as needed.

 

Stay healthy and stay safe!

Got it!
X